Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Formation PPL & LAPL
Aéroclub Basque · Aéroport de Biarritz Pays Basque, Anglet · France
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Licence de pilote privé PPL(A) / LAPL(A)
- Jurisdiction
- France
- Authority
- DGAC
- Training framework
- Approved training organisation (ATO), national authority
- Training base
- Aéroport de Biarritz Pays Basque (LFBZ)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Complete training to become a private pilot (PPL) or light aircraft pilot (LAPL) on the club's DR400 fleet.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the licence; the theory exam and practical test are taken with the authority.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Disposer d'un certificat médical pour pouvoir être « lâché » seul à bord.
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
Page: PPL 45 hours minimum incl. 25 dual; LAPL 30 hours minimum incl. 15 dual; average of 60 training hours observed for PPL.
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
60 h flight timePage states an observed average of 60 training hours for the PPL.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
EUR 180Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
Member rate DR400-140B; page does not say wet or dry.
- Aircraft:
- Robin DR400-140B
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: aeroclub-basque.com/tarifs
EUR 145Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
Member rate DR400-120; page does not say wet or dry.
- Aircraft:
- Robin DR400-120
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: aeroclub-basque.com/tarifs
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordDGACApproved training organisation (ATO), national authorityApproval
Reference: FR.ATO.0207
Scope: Register lists LAPL(A), PPL(A), night flying and aerobatics. Register PDF is dated July 2021; scope may have changed since.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.