Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence (PPL(A))
Aerostar Aviation · Parafield Airport, Parafield · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplane)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- CASA Part 141 flight training
- Training base
- Parafield Airport (YPPF)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- PPL training covering flying and theory subjects.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the PPL flight test and theory exam.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- ARN
- Class 1 or 2 medical
- ASIC
- English proficiency test
- PPL theory exam (70% pass mark)
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
40 h flight time
At least 40 hours including 10 solo, 5 solo cross-country and 2 instrument
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
AUD 21,000Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Approximately; based on the minimum 40 hours in a Cessna 172 at $450 per hour plus landing fees, theory materials, medical, security clearance and exam fees as listed by the school
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Not verifiedCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0010
Scope: Certificate holder listed in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read (AERO-STAR AVIATION PTY LTD, ADELAIDE AIRPORT SA (register suburb; school website places Aerostar Aviation at Parafield)) The CASA register lists this reference under Adelaide Airport, while the school site says Parafield; the match is not confirmed.
Flagged for review.
Not verifiedCASACASA Part 142 integrated trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.142FTO.0096
Scope: Certificate holder listed in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read (AERO-STAR AVIATION PTY LTD, ADELAIDE AIRPORT SA (register suburb; school website places Aerostar Aviation at Parafield)) The CASA register lists this reference under Adelaide Airport, while the school site says Parafield; the match is not confirmed.
Flagged for review.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.