Professional pilot training · Integrated professional course
Diploma of Aviation (Commercial Pilot Licence – Aeroplane) AVI50222
Basair Aviation College · Basair Bankstown, Sydney · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Professional pilot training
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Commercial Pilot Licence (Aeroplane)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Basair Bankstown
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Full-time
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Full-time VET diploma running RPL, PPL (navigation) and CPL phases in 10 four-week Units of Study, including night flying.
- Completion provides
- Diploma of Aviation (AVI50222); prepares for the CASA CPL flight test
- Still required
- CASA CPL exams and flight test (per CRICOS page: graduates are prepared for the CASA CPL flight test)
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 18 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Over 18 at course start
- Current Class 1 Australian Medical
- Pass Pilot Aptitude Screening Process
- ASIC by course start
- USI number
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- IELTS overall 6.5 or above with no sub-score less than 6.0 (academic) unless secondary school completed in Australia
- Medical
- Student holds a current Class 1 Australian Medical by the start of the course
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 170 h
- Ground: 414 h
- 170 hours flying time; 358 hours lectures + 56 hours pre-flight briefings = 414 hours theory
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- 10 Months
- Intake / booking
- Start dates every 4 weeks; next listed 26 Oct 2026
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- RPL phase
- PPL navigation phase
- CPL phase (theory, command flying, night flying)
Published prices
AUD 108,738Fixed advertised packageprice date 16 October 2026
A fixed price for a defined package of hours and services.
VET tuition fee for the course; Cessna 206 option is a separate price; dated by page retrieval only; inclusions not stated
- Aircraft:
- Piper Arrow or Cessna 182 option
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: basair.com.au/diploma-of-aviation-commercial-pilot-li
AUD 114,485Fixed advertised packageprice date 16 October 2026
A fixed price for a defined package of hours and services.
VET tuition fee; inclusions not stated
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 206 option
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: basair.com.au/diploma-of-aviation-commercial-pilot-li
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolCASAOther frameworkApproval
Scope: Describes its CPL course as CASA-approved; the page does not state Part 141 or Part 142 certificate numbers
Stated by the schoolOther authorityOther frameworkRegistration
Scope: VET qualifications AVI50222 and AVI50519 (RTO 1327, CRICOS 01552D per site footer); ASQA, not CASA, accredits the VET courses
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0008
Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'BASAIR AUSTRALIA PTY LTD' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 142 integrated trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.142FTO.0048
Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'BASAIR AUSTRALIA PTY LTD' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.