Ratings and additional qualifications · Instrument training
Diploma of Aviation (Instrument Rating) AVI50519
Basair Aviation College · Basair Bankstown, Sydney · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Ratings and additional qualifications
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Multi Engine Command Instrument Rating (ME CIR)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Basair Bankstown
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Full-time
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Initial multi-engine class rating, IREX theory, instrument flying in a flight simulation training device and in the Piper Seminole.
- Completion provides
- Diploma of Aviation (AVI50519); qualifies student for a CASA ME CIR assessment
- Still required
- CASA IREX exam and ME CIR flight test
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Holds a Commercial Pilot Licence
- Prior qualifications
- Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL)
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 27 h
- Ground: 125 h
- Simulator: 26 h
- 27 h Piper Seminole (8.5 initial ME class rating + 18.5 ME instrument) ; 26 h FSTD; 96 h IREX lectures + 29 h briefings
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- 4 Months
- Intake / booking
- Start dates every 4 weeks
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- Initial Multi-Engine
- IREX Theory
- IFR – FSTD
- IFR – Aircraft
Published prices
AUD 52,840Fixed advertised packageprice date 16 October 2026
A fixed price for a defined package of hours and services.
VET tuition fee; inclusions not stated
- Aircraft:
- Piper PA-44 Seminole
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: basair.com.au/diploma-of-aviation-instrument-rating/
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolCASAOther frameworkApproval
Scope: Describes its CPL course as CASA-approved; the page does not state Part 141 or Part 142 certificate numbers
Stated by the schoolOther authorityOther frameworkRegistration
Scope: VET qualifications AVI50222 and AVI50519 (RTO 1327, CRICOS 01552D per site footer); ASQA, not CASA, accredits the VET courses
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0008
Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'BASAIR AUSTRALIA PTY LTD' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 142 integrated trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.142FTO.0048
Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'BASAIR AUSTRALIA PTY LTD' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.