Professional pilot training · Commercial-pilot training
Airline and Flight Operations Commercial Pilot (Rotary-Wing), Diploma, Full-time
BCIT - Commercial Pilot (Rotary-Wing) Diploma with Pacific Flying Club and Chinook Helicopters · Chinook Helicopters, Abbotsford, Abbotsford · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Professional pilot training
- Aircraft category
- Helicopter
- Prepares for
- BCIT Diploma with Private Pilot Licence (fixed-wing) and Commercial Pilot Licence – Helicopter
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Chinook Helicopters, Abbotsford
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Full-time
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Fixed-wing PPL in the first two terms at Pacific Flying Club, then rotary-wing commercial training with Chinook Helicopters in term 3.
- Completion provides
- BCIT diploma; licences are issued by Transport Canada after exams and flight tests.
- Still required
- Transport Canada written exams and flight tests, once minimum flying hours are met (per page).
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- English Studies 12 (67%) or BCIT English Trades Entry Assessment
- Math requirement or BCIT Math Trades Entry Assessment
- Abstract and Mechanical Reasoning assessments
- Mandatory Applicant Questionnaire and Multiple Mini Interview
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Transport Canada Category 1 Aviation Medical
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
100 h flight time
Page states commercial rotary-wing licence after a minimum of 100 hours of training in term 3
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- 57 weeks over three terms, about 15 months
- Intake / booking
- April or May; applications June 1 to December 15
Published prices
CAD 148,952Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Domestic tuition cost estimate; tuition year not stated; commitment fee 1,000 and exam/licence fees 1,885 plus taxes listed separately
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
CAD 177,428Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
International tuition cost estimate; tuition year not stated
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolPrivate Career Training Institutions Agency of British Columbia (PCTIA)Other frameworkRegistration
Scope: Pacific Flying Club and Chinook Helicopters accreditation (provincial; not a Transport Canada approval)
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.