Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course

Private Pilot Licence

Brantford Flight Centre (Brantford Flying Club) · Brantford base, Brantford · Canada

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Private Pilot Licence - Aeroplane
Jurisdiction
Canada
Authority
Transport Canada
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Brantford base
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Flexible

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Flight instruction plus ground school toward the Private Pilot Licence; the page lists the Transport Canada minimums (45 hours of flight instruction, 40 hours of ground school).
Completion provides
Training toward the licence; the licence is issued by Transport Canada after the written exam and flight test.
Still required
Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
17 (as published)
Prerequisites
Not published
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Pass at least a Category 3 medical examination

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

45 h flight time

Minimum private pilot flight training under Standard 421.26(4): includes 17 hours dual instruction and 12 hours solo; up to 5 hours may be in an approved simulator or flight training device.

Authority source

Advertised package hours

  • Flight: 45 h
  • Ground: 40 h
  • Published as licence requirements (minimums), not as a priced package.

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
Not published
Intake / booking
Not published

Training stages and assessments

Examinations and assessments

  • Transport Canada PPL written examination
  • flight test

Published prices

CAD 80Instructor, per hourprice date 17 October 2026

Hourly charge for the instructor only.

Private-licence instruction rate; '$' unlabelled, CAD assumed; undated page.

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Rental basis:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not included
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Listed exclusions: HST

Source: flybfc.com/learn-to-fly

CAD 205Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 17 October 2026

Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).

Hourly wet rate for licensed pilots with a membership; page shows '$' with no currency label and no date (CAD assumed: Ontario club, HST mentioned). A fuel surcharge of $15/h on C-172s is stated separately.

Aircraft:
Cessna 172
Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Included
Rental basis:
Wet (fuel included)
Taxes:
Not included
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Listed exclusions: HST; fuel surcharge $15/h on C-172s

Source: flybfc.com/learn-to-fly

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

No authority record has been researched yet.

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.