Ground school and exam preparation · Ground school (theory)
ATPL(A) theory course
Bristol Groundschool · Clevedon centre, Clevedon · United Kingdom
Ground school covers theory only
At a glance
- Training category
- Ground school and exam preparation
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- ATPL (Aeroplanes) theoretical knowledge
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK approved training organisation (ATO)
- Training base
- Clevedon centre
- Delivery
- Online theory only
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Modular ATPL theory through ATPdigital computer-based training, video lessons and question tests, with revision weeks online or in person; 650 hours of learning including 65 hours live tuition.
- Completion provides
- Theory instruction only; no licence is issued by the school.
- Still required
- 13 theory exams with the UK CAA or an EASA state authority, a maximum of six sittings and no more than four attempts per subject
- Approval scope
- UK CAA document 31 lists 'ATPL (Aeroplanes) Modular Theoretical Knowledge (Distance Learning)' for this organisation.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- PPL(A) issued to ICAO standards
- Prior qualifications
- PPL(A) to ICAO standards
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Class 1 medical recommended before commercial training, not required for the theory course
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
- Ground: 650 h
- Page quotes 15 days of live tuition
School-reported typical completion
six to eighteen months
- Calendar duration
- Roughly six to eighteen months depending on study time
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- Module 1
- Module 2
- Module 3
Examinations and assessments
- 13 theory exams
Published prices
GBP 2,933Ground-school feeprice date 16 October 2026
Fee for theory instruction only.
GBP 2,933, or GBP 3,361 with manuals. Includes training software, 15 days of live tuition, video lessons, practice question tests and instructor support.
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not included
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Exam fees; Jeppesen GSPRM manual; Navigation tools (CRP-5, navigation protractor); Calculator
Source: bristol.gs/students/atpla/
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordUK CAAUK approved training organisation (ATO)Approval
Reference: GBR.ATO.0125
Scope: Listed theory courses include ATPL (Aeroplanes) Modular Theoretical Knowledge (Distance Learning), ATPL (Helicopter) Modular Theoretical Knowledge, ATPL/IR (Helicopters) Modular Theoretical Knowledge (Residential & Distance Learning), bridging courses, Competency Based Modular IR Theoretical Knowledge, En Route IR Theoretical Knowledge, IR (Aeroplanes) and IR (Helicopters) Modular Theoretical Knowledge.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.