Ground school and exam preparation · Ground school (theory)
ATPL(H)/IR theory course
Bristol Groundschool · Clevedon centre, Clevedon · United Kingdom
Ground school covers theory only
At a glance
- Training category
- Ground school and exam preparation
- Aircraft category
- Helicopter
- Prepares for
- ATPL (Helicopters) with instrument rating theoretical knowledge
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK approved training organisation (ATO)
- Training base
- Clevedon centre
- Delivery
- Online theory only
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Full Course or individual Modules 1, 2 or 3 with ATPdigital software, 18-month video library, 12-month question bank (Full Course or Module 1 only) and revision teaching.
- Completion provides
- Theory instruction only.
- Still required
- Theory exams with the aviation authority (exam fees not included)
- Approval scope
- UK CAA document 31 lists 'ATPL/IR (Helicopters) Modular Theoretical Knowledge (Residential & Distance Learning)' for this organisation.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- PPL issued to ICAO standards
- Prior qualifications
- PPL to ICAO standards
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- Module 1
- Module 2
- Module 3
Published prices
GBP 3,631Ground-school feeprice date 16 October 2026
Fee for theory instruction only.
Top of the shop price range GBP 626 to GBP 3,631 (individual modules to full course); the page does not state which option is the top price.
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not included
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: ATPL exam fees; Jeppesen airway manual; Navigation computer and protractor; Drawing set; Approved calculator; Printed CAPs; Shipping
Source: bristol.gs
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordUK CAAUK approved training organisation (ATO)Approval
Reference: GBR.ATO.0125
Scope: Listed theory courses include ATPL (Aeroplanes) Modular Theoretical Knowledge (Distance Learning), ATPL (Helicopter) Modular Theoretical Knowledge, ATPL/IR (Helicopters) Modular Theoretical Knowledge (Residential & Distance Learning), bridging courses, Competency Based Modular IR Theoretical Knowledge, En Route IR Theoretical Knowledge, IR (Aeroplanes) and IR (Helicopters) Modular Theoretical Knowledge.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.