Aviation degrees with flight training · Aviation degree
BSc (Hons) Aviation Management with Commercial Pilot Training in Aeroplanes
Buckinghamshire New University - School of Aviation and Security · High Wycombe Campus, High Wycombe · United Kingdom
At a glance
- Training category
- Aviation degrees with flight training
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- BSc (Hons) with a frozen ATPL (UCAS N8H4); optional advanced training leads to a CPL and frozen ATPL
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK approved training organisation (ATO)
- Training base
- High Wycombe Campus
- Delivery
- Blended (theory online, flying in person)
- Schedule
- Full-time
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Three-year full-time degree with ATPL theory in year 2 and modular flight training (PPL, then CPL and multi-engine instrument rating) completed with an approved training organisation.
- Completion provides
- BSc and a 'frozen' ATPL; the ATPL remains frozen until relevant professional experience is met.
- Still required
- CAA exams and flight tests with the chosen training organisation; flight training is a separate cost from tuition fees
- Approval scope
- Flight training is delivered by external ATOs; the degree page does not name them.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- UCAS tariff 104-128, at least two A-levels or equivalent
- GCSE Maths and English at grade C/4
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Class II medical at minimum for solo PPL flying; Class I medical before enrolling with a training organisation for commercial training
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 55 h
- Page: aeroplane training typically costs GBP 15,000-19,000 with most students needing 55-60 flight hours
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Three years full time
- Intake / booking
- September 2027 start shown
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- Year 1
- Year 2 ATPL theory
- Year 3
Examinations and assessments
- ATPL theory exams
Published prices
GBP 15,000Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Lower end of the stated GBP 15,000-19,000 estimate for aeroplane (PPL) training with an external ATO; the page also lists ATPL course fees of GBP 2,500-6,000 in Year 2.
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Tuition is separate; PPL theory exams and Class I medical listed as extra expenses; Further licences and ratings typically add another GBP 50,000-60,000
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Not verifiedUK CAAOther frameworkNo school certificate applies
Scope: The university is not itself an ATO; the degree page says flight training is completed with external training partners, and the Preferred Partner article names Leading Edge Aviation and Pilot Flight Training (Oxford) as the first two partner ATOs. Leading Edge Aviation's ATO approval (GBR.ATO.0503) is verified in its own file.
Flagged for review.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.