Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Standard Private Pilot Program
Calgary Flying Club · Springbank base, Calgary · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence – Aeroplane
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Springbank base
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Daytime private pilot flight training with ground school toward the PPL; part-time or full-time, year-round.
- Completion provides
- Training toward licence application; licence issued by Transport Canada.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Category 3 medical, must be completed by an Aviation Medical Examiner
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
Cost estimate based on Transport Canada minimum hours; page says national average is 85-90 hours
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 45 h
- Dual: 17 h
- Simulator: 3 h
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 13,140Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Transport Canada minimum-hours estimate (45 Cessna 172 hrs at $220, 17 dual at $80, 3 sim); page undated; page also says students typically spend $18,000-$25,000
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172
- Included aircraft hours:
- 45
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Included
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not included
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Included
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: GST; medical fee
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordTransport CanadaTransport Canada flight training unitApproval
Reference: Flight Training Unit ID 0086
Scope: Authorized training listed in the Transport Canada Flight Training Units search: Aerobatic, Commercial Pilot, Instructor Rating, Multi-engine Rating, Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Seaplane Rating, VFR Over-the-top Rating, Night Rating, Recreational Pilot
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.