Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
UK Private Pilot Licence PPL(A) with SEP class rating
Cambridge Aero Club · Cambridge Airport, Cambridge · United Kingdom
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- UK Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplanes) PPL(A) with single engine piston (SEP) class rating
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK approved training organisation (ATO)
- Training base
- Cambridge Airport
- Delivery
- Blended (theory online, flying in person)
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Dual and solo flying in Cessna 152, 172 and 182 aircraft, with self-study and online ground school for the nine CAA theory exams.
- Completion provides
- Preparation for the Skills Test for the licence.
- Still required
- Nine CAA online theory exams, the radiotelephony (FRTOL) practical and the Skills Test, all available at the club
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Class 2 medical certificate from an Aero Medical Examiner before first solo
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
25 hours dual and 10 hours solo, including 5 solo cross-country, as stated by the club
Advertised package hours
- Dual: 25 h
- Solo: 10 h
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Open 7 days a week; lessons can be booked up to 2 months ahead
Training stages and assessments
Examinations and assessments
- Nine CAA online theory exams
- Radiotelephony (FRTOL) practical
- Skills Test
Published prices
GBP 284.17Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
Dual rate column on the aircraft and prices page; billing unit not stated on the page (appears hourly); no effective date given; solo rate GBP 231.20. Cessna 172 dual GBP 316.80; Cessna 182 dual GBP 374.76.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 152 (dual rate)
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Rental basis:
- Wet (fuel included)
- Taxes:
- Included
- Landing fees:
- Not included
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Landings charged separately
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordUK CAAUK approved training organisation (ATO)Approval
Reference: GBR.ATO.0390
Scope: Listed courses: Aerobatic Rating (Aeroplanes); Class Rating Single-Engine Piston (Land); Competency Based Instrument Rating (Aeroplanes) Modular Flying; Night Rating (Aeroplanes); Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplanes).
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.