Private and recreational flying · Recreational / sport pilot course
Recreational Pilot Licence (RPL)
Central Coast Aero Club · Warnervale Airport, Warnervale · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Recreational Pilot Licence (RPL)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Warnervale Airport
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Core flying skills, aircraft handling, circuits and basic navigation, with first solo typically after 12-15 hours of instruction.
- Completion provides
- Preparation for the RPL flight test with a CASA approved examiner
- Still required
- CASA RPL(A) theory exam, radio exam, Aviation English Language Assessment, aviation security clearance, flight test with a CASA approved examiner
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 16 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- CASA ARN
- CASA medical certificate
- At least 16 years old for RPL flight test
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- A CASA medical certificate is required
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Advertised package hours
- Solo: 5 h
School-reported typical completion
37.5 h flight timeMost students complete in around 35-40 flight hours
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
AUD 17,525Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Estimate based on average hours; flying $14,130 + ancillary items $3,395 (textbooks, ground briefings, exams, medical, ASIC, flight test fee); additional $75/hour if a 4-seat aircraft is needed for pilots over 90 kg; not a fixed price
- Aircraft:
- Cessna C150
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Included
- Medical examination:
- Included
- Equipment:
- Included
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Additional training beyond average hours
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- You do not need to pay this upfront; you simply pay for each flight and/or theory session at the conclusion of each lesson.
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0237
Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'WARNERVALE AIR PTY LTD' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.