Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence PPL(A)
Cranfield Flying School · Cranfield Airport, Cranfield · United Kingdom
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- UK PPL(A)
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK declared training organisation (DTO)
- Training base
- Cranfield Airport (EGTC)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Practical PPL training in PA28 Warriors including 10 hours supervised solo, nine theory exams and a final skill test.
- Completion provides
- Training towards the UK PPL(A); licence issued by the UK CAA.
- Still required
- At the end of your training, you will need to take a skill test with an examiner.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- You will need a Class 2 medical for the solo flying and licence issue.
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
GBP 13,050Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
School's own best estimate, subject to change; annual membership GBP 180 payable upfront, flights paid individually
- Aircraft:
- Piper PA28 Warrior
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordUK CAAUK declared training organisation (DTO)Declaration
Reference: GBR.DTO.0226
Scope: Aero, SEP Land, Night(A), PPL(A)
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.