Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Certification
Green Mountain Flight Training · Rutland Southern Vermont Regional Airport, North Clarendon · United States
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Certificate (Airplane)
- Jurisdiction
- United States
- Authority
- FAA
- Training framework
- FAA Part 61 (instructor-based training, no school certificate)
- Training base
- Rutland Southern Vermont Regional Airport (KRUT)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Private pilot flight training with published age and hour requirements, instructor and aircraft hourly rates, and a stated timeframe.
- Completion provides
- Not stated.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
40 h flight time
Minimum flight hours stated on the school page; most achieve around 60-75 hours
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- 2-8 months
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
USD 75Instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Hourly charge for the instructor only.
Per hour
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: vtflightschool.com/learn-to-fly/
USD 175Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
Per hour; school states fuel included
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: vtflightschool.com/learn-to-fly/
USD 8,000Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
School-stated total cost range $8,000 to $12,000 for the private pilot certificate; lower bound shown
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: vtflightschool.com/learn-to-fly/
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.