Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence (PPL)
Haverfordwest Flight Centre (Flywales) · Haverfordwest Airport, Haverfordwest · United Kingdom
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- UK Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplanes) PPL(A)
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK approved training organisation (ATO)
- Training base
- Haverfordwest Airport
- Delivery
- Blended (theory online, flying in person)
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Flight training with a solo cross-country of at least 150nm landing at two aerodromes; nine theory subjects with in-house instruction, books, test booklets and online ground school with mock exams.
- Completion provides
- Not stated on the school page
- Still required
- Nine theory exams, which the school can sit in-house
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Class 2 medical from a CAA-authorised Medical Examiner
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
40 h flight time
School page states minimum 40 hours of flight training including at least 10 hours supervised solo; other UK schools in this dataset state 45 hours, so confirm with the school
Advertised package hours
- Solo: 10 h
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Lessons Monday to Friday at 0900, 1100, 1300 and 1500
Training stages and assessments
Examinations and assessments
- Nine theory exams
Published prices
GBP 250Aircraft + instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Aircraft and instructor charged together per hour.
Price list heading says 2026 while the text refers to 2025 hire rates; rates subject to change. Cessna 150 GBP 195 solo / 225 with instructor; Cessna 172 solo GBP 210; Cessna 172 XP solo 230 / with instructor 285. No landing or touch-and-go fees at Haverfordwest.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172 with instructor
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Included
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordUK CAAUK approved training organisation (ATO)Approval
Reference: GBR.ATO.0394
Scope: Listed courses: Class Rating Single Engine Piston (Land); Night Rating (Aeroplanes); Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplanes).
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.