Private and recreational flying · Recreational / sport pilot course
Recreational Pilot Permit (RPP)
Kingston Flying Club · Kingston base, Kingston · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Recreational Pilot Permit - Aeroplane
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Kingston base
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Minimum 25 hours of flight time (15 dual, 10 solo) with the written exam and flight test; permit allows day VFR flight in a small single-engine aircraft with one passenger.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the permit.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 16 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- You must be able to hold a Category 4 Medical or higher
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
25 h flight time
Minimum recreational pilot flight training under Standard 421.22(4).
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 25 h
- Dual: 15 h
- Solo: 10 h
- Transport Canada minimum times.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 7,950Estimated qualification packageprice date 17 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Aircraft rental (10 h solo, 15 h dual) and 15 h briefings at Transport Canada minimum times; written exam, flight test, medical and processing fees not included. Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (Ontario club, '+HST'). Undated page.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172M
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not included
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: HST; written exam; flight test; medical; processing fees
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.