Professional pilot training · Modular professional course
Modular (MAP) course: ground school, CPL, MEIR, AUPRT, APS MCC
Leading Edge Aviation · Oxford Campus, Kidlington · United Kingdom
At a glance
- Training category
- Professional pilot training
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- ATPL theory, CPL with multi-engine class rating, multi-engine instrument rating, AUPRT and APS MCC (modular components)
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK approved training organisation (ATO)
- Training base
- Oxford Campus
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Full-time
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- ATPL ground school (about 28 weeks, 13 subjects), CPL (about 6 weeks, 31 training hours on the DA42 including MEP class rating), MEIR (about 13 weeks, 53.5 hours of which 27.5 in aircraft and 30.5 in simulator), AUPRT (about 5 days, 5 hours in a Slingsby Firefly), APS MCC (3 weeks incl. 40 hours in an A320 simulator).
- Completion provides
- Components of a modular route to a CPL/IR and ATPL theory credits; graduate services optional for those who complete flight training with the academy.
- Still required
- 13 qualifying ATPL exams, and the flight test for each rating
- Approval scope
- UK CAA document 31 lists Commercial Pilot Licence (Aeroplanes) Modular Flying, Instrument Rating Modular Flying and ATPL Modular Theoretical Knowledge for this organisation.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 18 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Age 18+
- UK passport or Settled Status
- UK CAA Class 1 medical at least 3 months before start
- 5 GCSEs grade 4+ including Maths, English and a Science
- ICAO English level 5 or above
- PPL(A)
- For flight training: Night Rating, 174 total hours, 100 hours PIC, 300nm qualifying cross-country, assessment flight, completed ATPLs
- Prior qualifications
- PPL(A)
- Required experience
- 174 total hours and 100 hours PIC for flight training
- Language requirements
- ICAO English level 5 or above
- Medical
- UK CAA Class 1 medical, in place at least 3 months before the start date
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
- Ground: 650 h
- CPL 31 hours; MEIR 53.5 hours (27.5 aircraft, 30.5 sim); AUPRT 5 hours; APS MCC 40 hours A320 simulator
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Ground school about 28 weeks; CPL about 6 weeks; MEIR about 13 weeks; AUPRT about 5 days; APS MCC 3 weeks
- Intake / booking
- Intakes run twice a year
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- ATPL ground school
- CPL
- MEIR
- AUPRT
- APS MCC
- Graduate Services (optional)
Examinations and assessments
- 13 ATPL qualifying exams
Published prices
GBP 9,500Fixed advertised packageprice date 16 October 2026
A fixed price for a defined package of hours and services.
ATPL ground school, single licence (GBP 11,000 for dual licence). Includes training materials, flight bag, eBooks, uniform, iPad, question bank and first-time ATPL exam fees.
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Included
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Included
- Accommodation:
- Not included
Listed exclusions: Accommodation (GBP 8,750 for 28 weeks, subject to availability)
Deposit: GBP 1,500 non-refundable
Source: leadingedgeaviation.com/airline-pilot-training-courses/modular-
GBP 65,000Fixed advertised packageprice date 16 October 2026
A fixed price for a defined package of hours and services.
Flight package (CPL, MEIR, AUPRT, APS MCC), single licence; GBP 71,500 for dual licence. Includes training materials, uniform and first-time flight test fees. APS MCC standalone is GBP 8,250.
- Aircraft:
- Diamond DA42 (CPL and MEIR), Slingsby Firefly (AUPRT)
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Included
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Included
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Included
- Accommodation:
- Not included
Listed exclusions: PPL and hour building (FAQ: typically at least GBP 30,000); Graduate Services GBP 4,500 extra
Source: leadingedgeaviation.com/airline-pilot-training-courses/modular-
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Ground school deposit of GBP 1,500 is non-refundable
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordUK CAAUK approved training organisation (ATO)Approval
Reference: GBR.ATO.0503
Scope: Listed courses include Airline Transport Pilot Licence (Aeroplanes) Integrated, Commercial Pilot Licence with Instrument Rating (Aeroplanes) Integrated, CPL Modular Flying, Competency Based Modular Instrument Rating, Instrument Rating Modular Flying, ATPL Modular Theoretical Knowledge (Residential & Distance Learning), Class Rating Multi-Engine Piston, Night Rating, Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplanes), APS MCC (Modular), Advanced UPRT, Flight Instructor (Aeroplanes).
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.