Professional pilot training · Commercial-pilot training
Commercial Helicopter Pilot Licence (CHPL)
L R Helicopters · Springbank Airport base, Calgary · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Professional pilot training
- Aircraft category
- Helicopter
- Prepares for
- Commercial Pilot Licence – Helicopter
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Transport Canada flight training unit
- Training base
- Springbank Airport base
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Ground school and flight training to commercial helicopter licence standard, with credit available to fixed-wing commercial/ATPL holders.
- Completion provides
- Course completion; licence is issued by Transport Canada after exams and flight test.
- Still required
- Transport Canada commercial written exam, PSTAR, and flight test.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 18 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- No previous knowledge or experience in fixed or rotary wing aircraft required
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Valid Category 1 Medical Certificate.
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
100 h flight time
School states a minimum of 100 hours pilot flight time in helicopters, 35 hours PIC
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 101.7 h
- Dual: 55 h
- Solo: 35 h
- Ground: 80 h
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- 1 year or less course (school page)
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 86,330.44Fixed advertised packageprice date 16 October 2026
A fixed price for a defined package of hours and services.
RH44II package; fuel billed separately; flight time beyond 102 hours CAD 750/hour plus fuel (per page)
- Aircraft:
- Robinson RH44 II
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not included
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Fuel
Source: lrhelicopters.com/training-academy/license/commercial-hel
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolTransport CanadaTransport Canada flight training unitCertificate
Reference: 11224
Scope not established from the source.
Verified in authority recordTransport CanadaTransport Canada flight training unitApproval
Reference: Flight Training Unit ID 3448
Scope: Authorized training listed in the Transport Canada Flight Training Units search: Commercial Pilot, Instructor Rating, Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, VFR Over-the-top Rating, Night Rating
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.