Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Helicopter Pilot Licence (PPHL)
L R Helicopters · Springbank Airport base, Calgary · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Helicopter
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence – Helicopter
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Transport Canada flight training unit
- Training base
- Springbank Airport base
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Initial helicopter flight training and ground school toward the Canadian private helicopter licence, flown on the RH44.
- Completion provides
- Course completion; licence is issued by Transport Canada after the written exam and flight test.
- Still required
- Transport Canada written exam and flight test (fees listed in the price table).
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- None (no previous flight experience)
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Valid Category 3 Medical Certificate
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 45 h
- Dual: 33 h
- Solo: 12 h
- Ground: 40 h
- Simulator: 5 h
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 48,951Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Total for the 45-hour course; additional hours beyond 45 at CAD 840/hour
- Aircraft:
- Robinson RH44
- Included aircraft hours:
- 45
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Included
- Fuel:
- Included
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Included
- Medical examination:
- Included
- Equipment:
- Included
- Accommodation:
- Not included
Listed exclusions: Accommodation; meals; transport
Source: lrhelicopters.com
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolTransport CanadaTransport Canada flight training unitCertificate
Reference: 11224
Scope not established from the source.
Verified in authority recordTransport CanadaTransport Canada flight training unitApproval
Reference: Flight Training Unit ID 3448
Scope: Authorized training listed in the Transport Canada Flight Training Units search: Commercial Pilot, Instructor Rating, Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, VFR Over-the-top Rating, Night Rating
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.