Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course

Privatpilotenlizenz PPL(A)

Luftfahrtverein Mainz e.V. · Mainz-Finthen, Mainz · Germany

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Lizenz PPL(A) (Private Pilot Licence, aeroplane)
Jurisdiction
Germany
Authority
Other authority
Training framework
Approved training organisation (ATO), national authority
Training base
Mainz-Finthen (EDFZ)
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Part-time

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Club-based PPL(A): theory classes (100+ lessons) from October to March/April and flight training mostly at weekends.
Completion provides
Training towards the PPL(A).
Still required
Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
Approval scope
Register lists PPL-A/LAPL-A under DE.RP.ATO.06.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
16 (as published)
Prerequisites
Not published
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Class 2 medical (PPL-A)

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

45 h flight time

As published: at least 45 flight hours

Authority source

Advertised package hours

Not published.

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
Not published
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

EUR 8,356.90Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Minimum example calculation (Beispielrechnung), approx.; inclusions not stated

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: edfz.de/flugschule/motorflug/

EUR 14,860.60Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Average example calculation, approx.; inclusions not stated

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: edfz.de/flugschule/motorflug/

EUR 147.82Aircraft + instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026

Aircraft and instructor charged together per hour.

Schulstunde Flugunterricht (charter incl. instructor)

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Rental basis:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: edfz.de/flugschule/motorflug/

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

  • Verified in authority recordLandesbetrieb Mobilität Rheinland-Pfalz, Fachgruppe LuftverkehrApproved training organisation (ATO), national authorityApproval

    Reference: DE.RP.ATO.06

    Scope: Register (Stand 10.03.2023): PPL-A/LAPL-A, SEP(land), TMG, glider towing

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.