Professional pilot training · Commercial-pilot training
Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL), zero to commercial
Madiba Bay School of Flight (MBSF) · Port Elizabeth Airport, Gqeberha · South Africa
At a glance
- Training category
- Professional pilot training
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- SACAA Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL)
- Jurisdiction
- South Africa
- Authority
- SACAA
- Training framework
- SACAA approved training organisation
- Training base
- Port Elizabeth Airport
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Zero-to-commercial programme including the PPL, with 200 hours (150 hours integrated) required by SACAA.
- Completion provides
- Preparation for the SACAA CPL skills test.
- Still required
- SA-CATS 61 theoretical knowledge examination and skills test.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 18 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Hold a valid night rating (aeroplane).
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Hold a valid medical certificate, issued in terms of Part 67;
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
200 h flight time
Page: 200 h flight time (150 h integrated); 100 h PIC.
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- This license typically takes 18 to 20 months to obtain.
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
ZAR 606,157Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Homepage 'from' price, described as inclusive of PPL; other inclusions not stated.
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: mbsf.co.za
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.