Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course

Private Pilot Licence (PPL)

Madiba Bay School of Flight (MBSF) · Port Elizabeth Airport, Gqeberha · South Africa

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
SACAA Private Pilot Licence (PPL)
Jurisdiction
South Africa
Authority
SACAA
Training framework
SACAA approved training organisation
Training base
Port Elizabeth Airport
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Schedule not stated

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
PPL training on Sling aircraft: 45 hours minimum with theory and skills test requirements.
Completion provides
Preparation for the SACAA PPL skills test.
Still required
SACAA theoretical knowledge exams and practical SACAA PPL skills test.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
17 (as published)
Prerequisites
  • Valid Student Pilot License
  • Restricted radiotelephony certificate
  • English proficiency level 4 or higher
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Hold a valid class 1 or 2 medical aviation certificate

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

Not recorded for this program.

Advertised package hours

  • Flight: 45 h
  • Dual: 25 h
  • Solo: 15 h
  • Page: minimum 45 h total, at least 25 dual (max 5 in simulator), at least 15 solo.

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
This license typically takes between 3 to 5 months to obtain.
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

ZAR 148,893Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Homepage 'from' price for the PPL course; inclusions not stated. Price list dated Aug 2026 is linked on the site.

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: mbsf.co.za

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

No authority record has been researched yet.

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.