Professional pilot training · Commercial-pilot training
Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL)
Marlborough Aero Club (M.A.C.) · Omaka Airfield, Blenheim · New Zealand
At a glance
- Training category
- Professional pilot training
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL) – New Zealand
- Jurisdiction
- New Zealand
- Authority
- CAA NZ
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Omaka Airfield
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- CPL lessons including cross-country, CPL instrument flying and mountain flying for existing PPL holders.
- Completion provides
- Preparation for CPL flight test and licence issue
- Still required
- Six theory exams, cross-country flight test and CPL flight test
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Hold a PPL
- Current Class 1 Medical Certificate
- Prior qualifications
- Private Pilot Licence
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- You must hold a current Class 1 Medical Certificate.
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
200 h flight time
200 hours total incl. 100 PIC, 10 instrument, 30 cross-country, 5 dual terrain and weather awareness
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Training stages and assessments
Examinations and assessments
- Principles of Flight
- Meteorology
- Navigation
- Law
- Air Tech
- Human Factors
Published prices
NZD 19,000Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Flying element (CPL lessons, cross-countries, CPL instrument flying, mountain flying) assuming a PPL holder with 150 h total and 80 h PIC; other fees listed separately: membership $190, CAA medical application $121, Class 1 exam $1000, exams $1080, books $385, airways and landing fees about $250, flight test $964.61
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.