Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course

Private Pilot Licence (PPL)

Marlborough Aero Club (M.A.C.) · Omaka Airfield, Blenheim · New Zealand

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Private Pilot Licence (PPL) – New Zealand
Jurisdiction
New Zealand
Authority
CAA NZ
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Omaka Airfield
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Flexible

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
PPL training including airstrip flying, terrain and weather awareness, instrument and cross-country navigation; six CAA theory exams sat at the club via ASPEQ.
Completion provides
Preparation for PPL flight test and licence issue
Still required
Six theory exams (70% pass) and PPL flight test
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
17 (as published)
Prerequisites
  • At least 17 years to obtain PPL; solo at 16
  • DL9 (Class 2 with passenger endorsement) or CAA Class 2 medical
  • MAC annual membership
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
To gain a PPL or fly solo you must hold a current Medical Certificate (DL9 or Civil Aviation Authority Class 2).

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

50 h flight time

50 hours: 15 dual, 15 solo, 5 instrument, 10 cross-country navigation, 5 dual terrain and weather awareness

Authority source

Advertised package hours

Not published.

School-reported typical completion

65 h flight time · usually over 1-2 years, pay as you goMost students achieve their licence with approx 65 hrs

Calendar duration
Not published
Intake / booking
Not published

Training stages and assessments

Examinations and assessments

  • Flight Radio
  • Human Factors
  • Meteorology
  • Aircraft Technical Knowledge
  • Navigation
  • Law

Published prices

NZD 23,000Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Estimate range NZD 23,000 to 24,500 (lower bound recorded), pay as you go; component list: membership $190, DL9 medical about $80, six exams $662.82, ICAO English exam $162.71, equipment about $500, flying (50 h) about $16,000, flight test $795; hourly aircraft rate fluctuates with fuel prices

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Included
Medical examination:
Included
Equipment:
Included
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: marlboroughaeroclub.co.nz/pages/ppl

NZD 16,000Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Flying component only: minimum 50 flying hours, average cost, aircraft rate not fixed

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: marlboroughaeroclub.co.nz/pages/ppl

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

No authority record has been researched yet.

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.