Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence (continuing education)
Mount Royal University - Aviation (Springbank) · Springbank campus, Calgary · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence – Aeroplane
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Springbank campus
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Flight training and ground school (twice a week at the Springbank Hangar) toward the private pilot licence, offered alongside the Aviation Diploma and Bachelor of Aviation Management.
- Completion provides
- Training toward PPL; licence issued by Transport Canada.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Intended for students with little or no flying experience
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Transport Canada requires Category 3 medical to begin the PPL; Category 1 is needed for the CPL
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
Page states the Transport Canada minimum for the program
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 24,990Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Approximate flight training cost, plus GST; undated (Fall 2026 intake mentioned)
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not included
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: GST
CAD 995Ground-school feeprice date 16 October 2026
Fee for theory instruction only.
Approximate cost of the ground school portion
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordTransport CanadaTransport Canada flight training unitApproval
Reference: Flight Training Unit ID 0099
Scope: Authorized training listed in the Transport Canada Flight Training Units search: Commercial Pilot, Instructor Rating, Multi-engine Rating, Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, VFR Over-the-top Rating, Night Rating, Recreational Pilot
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.