Flight School Atlas
Menu

Ratings and additional qualifications · Instrument training

Instrument Rating (IR) / Multi-Engine Instrument Rating

National Flight Centre (NFC) Pilot Academy · Weston Airport, Leixlip · Ireland

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Ratings and additional qualifications
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
EASA Instrument Rating (IR) - multi-engine
Jurisdiction
Ireland
Authority
IAA
Training framework
Approved training organisation (ATO), national authority
Training base
Weston Airport
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Schedule not stated

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Multi-engine instrument rating flight training (up to 30 hours may be in an FNPT II) and a modular distance-learning IR theory course.
Completion provides
Training toward the rating; issued by the IAA after tests.
Still required
Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
Not published
Prerequisites
  • PPL and Night Rating or CPL
  • 50 hours cross-country as pilot in command
  • 13 ATPL theoretical knowledge exams or 7 IR exams passed
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Not stated by the school

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

55 h flight time

Minimum flight training for Multi-Engine Instrument Rating; up to 30 hours may be in FNPT II

Authority source

Advertised package hours

Not published.

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
Not published
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

EUR 227Aircraft + instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026

Aircraft and instructor charged together per hour.

Per hour, flight training price; undated page (course PDFs labelled Jan 2026); inclusions not listed

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Rental basis:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: nfc.ie/instrument-rating-ir

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

  • Verified in authority recordIAAApproved training organisation (ATO), national authorityApproval

    Scope: Listed as an Approved Training Organisation; the IAA list does not state approved courses (the Approval Certificate details them)

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.