Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence (PPL)
National Flight Centre (NFC) Pilot Academy · Weston Airport, Leixlip · Ireland
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- EASA Private Pilot Licence (PPL(A))
- Jurisdiction
- Ireland
- Authority
- IAA
- Training framework
- Approved training organisation (ATO), national authority
- Training base
- Weston Airport
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Flight instruction and briefings in C152 or C172 toward the PPL, with theory exams set by the IAA.
- Completion provides
- Training toward PPL; licence issued by the Irish Aviation Authority after exams and skill test.
- Still required
- 9 theoretical knowledge exams set by the IAA; English Language Proficiency check
- Approval scope
- School states the course is EASA approved; the IAA ATO list names the organisation but does not state course scope.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Class Two or Class One medical with an Aviation Medical Examiner
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
Minimum flying instruction and briefing hours as stated by school
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Expect to complete the course in 9 to 12 months.
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
No price is published on the sources researched for this program. Use Request Information to ask the school.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordIAAApproved training organisation (ATO), national authorityApproval
Scope: Listed as an Approved Training Organisation; the IAA list does not state approved courses (the Approval Certificate details them)
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.