Flight School Atlas
Menu

Professional pilot training · Commercial-pilot training

Commercial Pilot Licence (Aeroplane) - CAANZ Part 61

Nelson Aviation College · Motueka Aerodrome, Motueka · New Zealand

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Professional pilot training
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL), CAA NZ Part 61
Jurisdiction
New Zealand
Authority
CAA NZ
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Motueka Aerodrome (NZMK)
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Full-time

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Part 61 professional licence course flown in the Cessna 152 and Cessna 172.
Completion provides
Preparation for the CPL flight test
Still required
Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
Not published
Prerequisites
  • Private Pilot Licence
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Not stated by the school

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

200 h flight time

Total flight time requirement for the licence as stated by the college

Authority source

Advertised package hours

  • Flight: 140 h
  • 140 hours in the course: 69 in the Cessna 152 and 68 in the Cessna 172, including the flight test

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
Complete in 36 weeks
Intake / booking
Not published

Training stages and assessments

Examinations and assessments

  • External Aspeq theory exams, 70% pass mark

Published prices

NZD 79,484Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Domestic student fee; page states fee is indicative and a maximum; student loan not available

Aircraft:
Cessna 152 / Cessna 172
Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: nelsonaviation.nz/flight-training/commercial-pilot-licenc

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

  • Not verifiedCAA NZCAA NZ Part 141 aviation training organisationCertificate

    Scope: Listed by name in the CAA NZ list of Part 141 certificated organisations (client name and address only; certificate number and scope not published on the list)

    Flagged for review.

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.