Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplane) - Training Scheme
Nelson Aviation College · Motueka Aerodrome, Motueka · New Zealand
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence (PPL), CAA NZ Part 61
- Jurisdiction
- New Zealand
- Authority
- CAA NZ
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Motueka Aerodrome (NZMK)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Full-time
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Part 61 recreational licence course flown in the Cessna 152, with Basic IF simulator time and external theory exams.
- Completion provides
- Preparation for the PPL flight test
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 58 h
- Simulator: 2 h
- 60 hours total: 58 hours Cessna 152 flight time plus 2 hours Basic IF simulator
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Complete in 16 weeks
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Training stages and assessments
Examinations and assessments
- External Aspeq theory examinations, 70% pass mark
Published prices
NZD 32,931Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Domestic student fee; page states fees are indicative maximums; student loan not available
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 152
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: nelsonaviation.nz/flight-training/private-pilot-licence-a
NZD 41,190Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
International student fee; page states fees are indicative maximums
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 152
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: nelsonaviation.nz/flight-training/private-pilot-licence-a
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Not verifiedCAA NZCAA NZ Part 141 aviation training organisationCertificate
Scope: Listed by name in the CAA NZ list of Part 141 certificated organisations (client name and address only; certificate number and scope not published on the list)
Flagged for review.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.