Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence PPL(A)
Ormand Flying Club · Birr Airfield, Birr · Ireland
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- PPL(A)
- Jurisdiction
- Ireland
- Authority
- IAA
- Training framework
- Declared training organisation (DTO), national authority
- Training base
- Birr Airfield (EIBR)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Club specialises in PPL training; Cessna 172 used for the PPL, EV-97 Eurostar for the LAPL.
- Completion provides
- Training towards the PPL(A); licence issued by the Irish Aviation Authority after tests.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
As stated by the authority; not a guarantee of total cost or completion time.
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
EUR 200Aircraft + instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Aircraft and instructor charged together per hour.
Per 60 minutes with instructor; annual membership EUR 480; self-hire EUR 165
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: ormandflyingclub.ie
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordIAADeclared training organisation (DTO), national authorityDeclaration
Scope not established from the source.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.