Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence course
Pacific Flying Club · Boundary Bay base, Delta · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence - Aeroplane
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Boundary Bay base
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Ground school (evening or Saturday-morning classes, start any time) plus dual and solo flight training toward the PPL.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the licence; licence issued by Transport Canada.
- Still required
- Transport Canada written exam and flight test.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- None stated (admission requirements: None)
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
5 hours dual instrument, 3 hours dual cross-country, 5 hours solo cross-country; up to 3 hours may be in an approved simulator.
Advertised package hours
- Dual: 40 h
- Solo: 15 h
- Ground: 10 h
- Costing example uses 40 dual, 15 solo and 10 ground briefing hours (about 55-60 total) on the page.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- No fixed duration; depends on schedule, weather and repeat lessons
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 15,260Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Minimum course total (40 dual, 15 solo, 10 ground briefing hours, ground school with manual). Page lists incidental costs of 2,052.40 and an estimated total of 17,312.40. Currency not labelled; CAD assumed.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 152
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Not included
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: medical; flight test; Transport Canada licence fees and written exam; membership; books and supplies; headset
Source: pacificflying.com/recreation/training-private-pilot-licen
CAD 276Aircraft + instructor, per hourprice date 2 February 2026
Aircraft and instructor charged together per hour.
Dual rate per hour, effective 2026-02-02; $10 per hour premium for Class I instructor. Rental inclusions not stated.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 152
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: pacificflying.com/members/hourly-rental-and-instruction-r
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.