Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot's Licence (PPL)
Phil Unicomb Aviation · Cessnock Airport, Pokolbin · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot's Licence (PPL)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- CASA Part 141 flight training
- Training base
- Cessnock Airport
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Around 10 navigation exercises across regional NSW, a PPL theory exam and a flight test with an examiner.
- Completion provides
- Preparation for the PPL flight test
- Still required
- PPL theory exam and flight test with an examiner
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Recreational Pilot's Licence (RPL)
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Class 1 or 2 aviation medical certificate
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
40 h flight time
Minimum 40 hours total training including previously achieved RPL hours, as stated by the school
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
AUD 12,513Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Estimate including GST; depends on hours flown and aircraft
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Included
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: philunicombaviation.com/training/private-pilots-license/
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0391
Scope: Certificate holder listed in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read (PHIL UNICOMB AVIATION PTY LTD, POKOLBIN NSW, active until 31 January 2030)
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.