Flight School Atlas
Menu

Professional pilot training · Commercial-pilot training

Commercial Helicopter Pilot

Prairie Helicopters · Gimli base, Gimli · Canada

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Professional pilot training
Aircraft category
Helicopter
Prepares for
Commercial Pilot Licence - Helicopter
Jurisdiction
Canada
Authority
Transport Canada
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Gimli base
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Full-time

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Full programme for students with little or no experience: 100 hours of flight time (dual and solo) and 100 hours of ground school including Bell 206 study; full-time attendance.
Completion provides
Training toward the commercial helicopter licence.
Still required
Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
18 (as published)
Prerequisites
Not published
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
All students must have the ability to acquire a category 1 medical certificate before being accepted into our program.

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

100 h flight time

Pilot flight time in helicopters under Standard 421.31(4)(a), including a minimum of 35 hours as pilot-in-command and 10 hours cross-country pilot-in-command time.

Authority source

Advertised package hours

  • Flight: 100 h
  • Ground: 100 h
  • Programme includes 100 h flight (dual/solo) and 100 h ground school.

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
5 to 6 months
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

CAD 105,500Fixed advertised packageprice date 17 October 2026

A fixed price for a defined package of hours and services.

Total flight time cost; classroom time cost listed separately at $2,500 (not included in this amount). Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (Manitoba company; page mentions Canada Student Loans). Undated page.

Aircraft:
Bell 206B Jet Ranger
Ground instruction:
Not included
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: prairiehelicopters.com/flight-training/commercial-helicopter-p

CAD 2,500Ground-school feeprice date 17 October 2026

Fee for theory instruction only.

Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (Manitoba company; page mentions Canada Student Loans). Undated page.

Ground instruction:
Included
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: prairiehelicopters.com/flight-training/commercial-helicopter-p

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

  • Stated by the schoolTransport CanadaTransport Canada flight training unitApproval

    Scope not established from the source.

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.