Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course

Private Pilot Licence

Rockcliffe Flying Club · Ottawa Rockcliffe base, Ottawa · Canada

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Private Pilot Licence - Aeroplane
Jurisdiction
Canada
Authority
Transport Canada
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Ottawa Rockcliffe base (CYRO)
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Flexible

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Flight and ground training toward the private licence.
Completion provides
Training toward the licence.
Still required
Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
Not published
Prerequisites
Not published
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
A Transport Canada medical is required

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

45 h flight time

Minimum private pilot flight training under Standard 421.26(4): includes 17 hours dual instruction and 12 hours solo; up to 5 hours may be in an approved simulator or flight training device.

Authority source

Advertised package hours

Not published.

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
Not published
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

CAD 22,122Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Low end of the published estimate range 22,122 - 34,025 (dual and solo rental, instructor fees, estimated written and flight test fees, annual membership, school fees, student kit). Page undated; currency not labelled, CAD assumed.

Ground instruction:
Included
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: rfc.ca/flightraining

CAD 34,025Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

High end of the same estimate range.

Ground instruction:
Included
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: rfc.ca/flightraining

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

  • Stated by the schoolOntario career college registrationOther frameworkRegistration

    Scope: Provincial career college status (as stated); no Transport Canada approval statement read.

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.