Private and recreational flying · Recreational / sport pilot course
Recreational Pilot Permit
Rockcliffe Flying Club · Ottawa Rockcliffe base, Ottawa · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Recreational Pilot Permit - Aeroplane
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Ottawa Rockcliffe base (CYRO)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Flight and ground training toward the recreational permit.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the permit.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
25 h flight time
Minimum recreational pilot flight training under Standard 421.22(4).
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 13,806Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Low end of the published range 13,806 - 21,281. Page undated; currency not labelled, CAD assumed.
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: rfc.ca/flightraining
CAD 21,281Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
High end of the same range.
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: rfc.ca/flightraining
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolOntario career college registrationOther frameworkRegistration
Scope: Provincial career college status (as stated); no Transport Canada approval statement read.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.