Private and recreational flying · Recreational / sport pilot course
Recreational Pilot Licence (RPL)
Royal Aero Club of New South Wales (RACNSW) · Camden Airport, Camden · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Recreational Pilot Licence (RPL)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- CASA Part 141 flight training
- Training base
- Camden Airport
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Four phases: first solo, first area solo, RPL training, then radio and controlled aerodrome endorsements.
- Completion provides
- Preparation for the RPL flight test
- Still required
- CASA RPL theory exam and RPL flight test
- Approval scope
- School states flight training is delivered under its Part 141 approval (CASA.141 FTO.0433)
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 14 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- At least 16 years old for the flight test (lessons can begin at 14)
- Class 1, Class 2, Basic Class 2 or RAMPC medical certificate
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Hold a Class 1, Class 2, Basic Class 2, or RAMPC medical certificate
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
25 h flight time
At least 25 hours of flight training to undertake the RPL flight test
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- Phase 1: First Solo Flight
- Phase 2: First Area Solo Flight
- Phase 3: Recreational Pilot Licence
- Phase 4: RPL Flight Radio & Controlled Aerodrome Endorsements
Published prices
AUD 285Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 1 April 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
'From' hire rate per VDO hour (engine on to off), last updated April 2026; includes insurance, fuel and oil; landing fees charged per full-stop landing; instructor charge not stated
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 152
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Rental basis:
- Wet (fuel included)
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not included
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Landing fees per full-stop landing
Source: royalaero.com.au/aircraft
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingApproval
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0433
Scope: Flight training under Part 141 approval; scope of ratings not stated on the page; approval number shown in site footer
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0433
Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'ROYAL AERO CLUB OF NSW INCORPORATED' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.