Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence (PPL)
Royal Newcastle Aero Club · Rutherford / Maitland Airport, Rutherford · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence (PPL)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Rutherford / Maitland Airport (YMND)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Navigation sequences including controlled airspace and controlled aerodrome endorsements, after Recreational Pilot Licence standard skills.
- Completion provides
- Recommendation for the PPL flight test
- Still required
- CASA-administered theory exam and flight test
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- CASA Class 2 medical certificate or higher to use PPL privileges
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
40 h flight time
Minimum legislative requirement stated by the club
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
AUD 435Aircraft + instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Aircraft and instructor charged together per hour.
Dual rate per hour, Cessna 172S, effective rates page; includes fuel, Maitland landing fees and GST
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172S
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Rental basis:
- Wet (fuel included)
- Taxes:
- Included
- Landing fees:
- Included
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: rnac.com.au/hire-rates/
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Scope: Club states it is a CASR Part 141 certified school for Recreational, Private and Commercial training; no certificate number recorded (an FTO number seen in a homepage summary is listed in CASA's register under a different holder name and was not relied on)
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.