Introductory flying · Trial lesson
Trial Instructional Flight (TIF)
Royal Newcastle Aero Club · Rutherford / Maitland Airport, Rutherford · Australia
This is an introductory experience
At a glance
- Training category
- Introductory flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- No qualification (experience or skills course)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- Not published
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Rutherford / Maitland Airport (YMND)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Pre-flight aerodynamics basics, demonstration of basic handling, then hands-on control under instructor supervision.
- Completion provides
- Experience flight
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
AUD 179Discovery-flight priceprice date 16 October 2026
One short introductory flight. Not comparable with course prices.
30-minute flight, price includes GST
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Included
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Scope: Club states it is a CASR Part 141 certified school for Recreational, Private and Commercial training; no certificate number recorded (an FTO number seen in a homepage summary is listed in CASA's register under a different holder name and was not relied on)
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.