Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course

Private Pilot Licence (PPL)

Royal Victorian Aero Club (RVAC) · Moorabbin Airport, Mentone · Australia

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Private Pilot Licence (PPL)
Jurisdiction
Australia
Authority
CASA
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Moorabbin Airport
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Flexible

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Navigation and controlled-airspace training with PPL theory course and exam; RPL syllabus competencies must be completed.
Completion provides
PPL flight test and licence issue are included in the course fee
Still required
Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
Not published
Prerequisites
Not published
Prior qualifications
RPL syllabus (lessons and competencies) must be completed, though an RPL need not be issued first
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Not stated by the school

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

40 h flight time

CASA minimum requirement 40 hours

Authority source

Advertised package hours

  • Flight: 28.1 h
  • Dual: 20.6 h
  • Solo: 5.5 h
  • Simulator: 2 h
  • Fee covers 20.6 h dual, 5.5 h solo, 2 h simulator (does not include the RPL syllabus)

School-reported typical completion

Most students complete their PPL within 3 to 12 months

Calendar duration
Not published
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

AUD 16,596Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Indicative price incl. GST, pay as you go; excludes the RPL syllabus cost; includes PPL theory course and exam, Level 6 English assessment, flight test and licence issue

Aircraft:
Piper Warrior or Cessna 172
Ground instruction:
Included
Simulator time:
Included
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Included
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Listed exclusions: Recreational Pilot Licence syllabus

Source: rvac.com.au/courses/private-pilot-licence/

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

  • Stated by the schoolCASAOther frameworkApproval

    Scope: School states it is a Part 141 and 142 accredited school; no certificate reference or scope on the page

  • Stated by the schoolASQA / Australian Government Dept of Education (as stated by school)Other frameworkRegistration

    Scope: VET RTO / CRICOS registration for AVI50222, AVI50519, AVI50419 per school

  • Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate

    Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0184

    Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'ROYAL VICTORIAN AERO CLUB.' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read

  • Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 142 integrated trainingCertificate

    Reference: CASA.142FTO.0070

    Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'ROYAL VICTORIAN AERO CLUB.' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.