Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Recreational / sport pilot course

Recreational Pilot Licence (RPL)

Royal Victorian Aero Club (RVAC) · Moorabbin Airport, Mentone · Australia

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Recreational Pilot Licence (RPL)
Jurisdiction
Australia
Authority
CASA
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Moorabbin Airport
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Flexible

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
CASA RPL syllabus: flight training, RPL theory course and exam, flight test.
Completion provides
RPL flight test and licence issue are included in the course fee
Still required
CASA RPL Theory Exam and RPL flight test (course fee covers theory course, exam and flight test)
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
Not published
Prerequisites
Not published
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Get a Class 2 aviation medical from an Aviation Medical examiner (DAME).

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

25 h flight time

CASA minimum 25 hours (20 dual, 5 solo)

Authority source

Advertised package hours

  • Flight: 32.5 h
  • Dual: 26.5 h
  • Solo: 5 h
  • Simulator: 1 h
  • Included in fee: 26.5 h dual, 5 h solo, 1 h simulator; standard syllabus 25.6 h per school note

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
Not published
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

AUD 17,964Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026

The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.

Indicative price incl. GST, pay as you go; includes flight hours, briefings, RPL theory course and exam, RPL flight test and licence issue; other aircraft priced on request; actual hours vary with progress

Aircraft:
Cessna 152
Ground instruction:
Included
Simulator time:
Included
Fuel:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Included
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: rvac.com.au/courses/recreational-pilot-licence/

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
RVAC uses a pay-as-you-go model, so you only pay for the training you complete.

Authority records for this school and base

  • Stated by the schoolCASAOther frameworkApproval

    Scope: School states it is a Part 141 and 142 accredited school; no certificate reference or scope on the page

  • Stated by the schoolASQA / Australian Government Dept of Education (as stated by school)Other frameworkRegistration

    Scope: VET RTO / CRICOS registration for AVI50222, AVI50519, AVI50419 per school

  • Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate

    Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0184

    Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'ROYAL VICTORIAN AERO CLUB.' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read

  • Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 142 integrated trainingCertificate

    Reference: CASA.142FTO.0070

    Scope: Certificate holder listed as 'ROYAL VICTORIAN AERO CLUB.' in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.