Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot (Airplane Single Engine Land)
Sky Shark Flight Academy · Stennis International Airport, Bay St. Louis · United States
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Certificate (Airplane)
- Jurisdiction
- United States
- Authority
- FAA
- Training framework
- FAA Part 61 (instructor-based training, no school certificate)
- Training base
- Stennis International Airport (KHSA)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Part 61 private pilot course with an online cost calculator based on Piper Cherokee rates, prebrief and debrief time.
- Completion provides
- Not stated.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
40 h flight time
FAA minimum for Part 61 as stated by the school; FAA cites approximately 75 hours as the US average
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
USD 13,112Estimated qualification packageprice date 16 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
School estimate at the FAA minimum; the school shows a realistic average of $19,885; estimates only, subject to change; fuel surcharge extra
- Aircraft:
- Piper Cherokee
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Fuel surcharge; Headset and equipment; FAA medical; Written exam fee; Checkride fee
Source: skysharkflightacademy.com
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Stated by the schoolFAAFAA Part 61 (instructor-based training, no school certificate)No school certificate applies
Scope not established from the source.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.