Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot's Licence PPL(H)
Sloane Helicopters Flying School · Sywell Aerodrome, Northampton (Sywell) · United Kingdom
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Helicopter
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence (Helicopters) PPL(H)
- Jurisdiction
- United Kingdom
- Authority
- UK CAA
- Training framework
- UK approved training organisation (ATO)
- Training base
- Sywell Aerodrome
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Helicopter flying exercises including basic autorotation, navigation, confined area operations and basic instrument flight, with theory covering 10 subjects.
- Completion provides
- Course ends with a skill test observed by an in-house Flight Examiner.
- Still required
- Theory exams in each subject and the skill test; UK CAA licence issue costs are not included in the price list.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Valid CAA class 1 or class 2 medical certificate
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 45 h
- Dual: 35 h
- Solo: 10 h
- R22 and R44 packages each quote 45 hours
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Full-time courses take about four to six weeks; part-time depends on attendance
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Training stages and assessments
Examinations and assessments
- 10 theory subjects including two radiotelephony exams (written and practical)
Published prices
GBP 24,075Estimated qualification packageprice date 1 April 2025
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Minimum-hours package on the R44, exclusive of VAT.
- Aircraft:
- Robinson R44
- Included aircraft hours:
- 45
- Included instructor hours:
- 35
- Ground instruction:
- Not included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Taxes:
- Not included
- Landing fees:
- Included
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not included
Listed exclusions: VAT; additional flying or theoretical hours; exam retakes; accommodation and subsistence; medical tests; UK CAA licence issue costs
Source: flyingschool.sloanehelicopters.com/_/Flying-School-Price-List-2026.pdf
GBP 15,975Estimated qualification packageprice date 1 April 2025
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Minimum-hours package; price list says 'Prices effective from 1st April 2025' and notes prices are inclusive of fuel, circuits and landing fees for training. Exclusive of VAT.
- Aircraft:
- Robinson R22
- Included aircraft hours:
- 45
- Included instructor hours:
- 35
- Ground instruction:
- Not included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Taxes:
- Not included
- Landing fees:
- Included
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not included
Listed exclusions: VAT; additional flying or theoretical hours; exam retakes; accommodation and subsistence; medical tests; UK CAA licence issue costs; onboarding fee GBP 425 + VAT; PPL ground exams GBP 75 + VAT each; R/T practical test GBP 220 + VAT; additional ground school GBP 60 + VAT per hour
Source: flyingschool.sloanehelicopters.com/_/Flying-School-Price-List-2026.pdf
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Membership and PPL(H) onboarding fees are non-refundable
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordUK CAAUK approved training organisation (ATO)Approval
Reference: GBR.ATO.0197
Scope: Listed courses include Private Pilot Licence (Helicopters), Light Aircraft Pilot Licence (Helicopters), Commercial Pilot Licence (Helicopters) Modular Flying, Night Rating (Helicopters), Flight Instructor (Helicopters), Instrument Rating Instructor (Helicopters), Type Ratings Robinson R22/R44/R66 and Leonardo AW109/AW169.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.