Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence
Tillsonburg Flying School · Tillsonburg base, Tillsonburg · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence - Aeroplane
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Tillsonburg base
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Private licence training in Cessna 150 and 172 aircraft with a 45-hour minimum ground school figure shown on the programs list.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the licence; issued by Transport Canada after the exams and flight test.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Not stated by the school
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
Minimum private pilot flight training under Standard 421.26(4): includes 17 hours dual instruction and 12 hours solo; up to 5 hours may be in an approved simulator or flight training device.
Advertised package hours
- Ground: 45 h
- The programs card shows '45 Hours Min Ground School'.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 20,000Estimated qualification packageprice date 17 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
School's own 'realistic expectations' estimate incl. flight hours, ground school ($650) and books ($450). Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (.ca site, Ontario). Page states 'Prices are subject to change without notice'; undated.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 150 / 172
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Included
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: tillsonburgflyingschool.ca
CAD 224Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 17 October 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
Hourly aircraft rate; fuel included per page. Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (.ca site, Ontario). Page states 'Prices are subject to change without notice'; undated.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: tillsonburgflyingschool.ca
CAD 198Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 17 October 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
Hourly aircraft rate; fuel included per page. Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (.ca site, Ontario). Page states 'Prices are subject to change without notice'; undated.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 150
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Included
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: tillsonburgflyingschool.ca
CAD 84Instructor, per hourprice date 17 October 2026
Hourly charge for the instructor only.
Class IV instructor rate (Class I/II: $92/hr). Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (.ca site, Ontario). Page states 'Prices are subject to change without notice'; undated.
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Source: tillsonburgflyingschool.ca
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.