Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence (PPL)
Tristar Aviation · Moorabbin Airport, Moorabbin · Australia
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence (Aeroplane)
- Jurisdiction
- Australia
- Authority
- CASA
- Training framework
- CASA Part 141 flight training
- Training base
- Moorabbin Airport (YMMB)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Navigation training with eight navigation exercises, two flown solo, following the RPL stage.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the PPL flight test.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 17 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Recreational Pilot Licence first
- PPL theory course
- Minimum 17 years old for the flight test
- Minimum Class 2 medical (not included in course price)
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Minimum Class 2 aviation medical
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
- Dual: 20 h
- Solo: 7 h
- Estimate based on CASA minimum hours in a Cessna 172, plus about 3.5 hours flight test
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
AUD 16,197.50Estimated qualification packageprice date 1 July 2025
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Estimate for PPL only (excludes RPL stage), based on July 2025 prices, CASA minimum hours; school says prices may change without notice and this is not a quote
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: Medical
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 141 flight trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.141 FTO.0231
Scope: Certificate holder listed in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read (TRISTAR AVIATION COMPANY, MOORABBIN AIRPORT VIC)
Verified in authority recordCASACASA Part 142 integrated trainingCertificate
Reference: CASA.142FTO.0064
Scope: Certificate holder listed in CASA's Find a flight training operator register; flight training categories not read (TRISTAR AVIATION COMPANY, MOORABBIN AIRPORT VIC)
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.