Flight School Atlas
Menu

Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course

Private Pilot Licence

Victoria Flying Club · Sidney base, Sidney · Canada

Visit Official WebsiteRequest Information

At a glance

Training category
Private and recreational flying
Aircraft category
Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
Prepares for
Private Pilot Licence - Aeroplane
Jurisdiction
Canada
Authority
Transport Canada
Training framework
Not stated
Training base
Sidney base
Delivery
In person
Schedule
Flexible

What it teaches and what completion provides

Teaches
Ground school (group lecture course) and flight training toward day VFR private privileges on single-engine non-high-performance aircraft.
Completion provides
Training toward the licence; flight test is with a Transport Canada Designated Pilot Examiner.
Still required
Transport Canada written exam and flight test.
Approval scope
The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.

A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.

Entry requirements

Minimum age
17 (as published)
Prerequisites
Not published
Prior qualifications
Not published
Required experience
Not published
Language requirements
Not published
Medical
Valid Category 1 or Category 3 medical certificate

Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.

Duration and hours

These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.

Regulatory minimum

45 h flight time

As stated by the authority; not a guarantee of total cost or completion time.

Authority source

Advertised package hours

Not published.

School-reported typical completion

Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.

Calendar duration
Ground school takes about 8 weeks; no overall length stated
Intake / booking
Not published

Published prices

CAD 219Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 16 October 2026

Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).

Solo rate per hour; fuel and oil included, fuel and insurance surcharges extra. Rates page undated. Currency symbol shown as $ without a currency label on the page; school is in Canada, so CAD assumed.

Aircraft:
Cessna 172S
Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Included
Rental basis:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Listed exclusions: fuel surcharge; insurance surcharge

Source: flyvfc.com/rates

CAD 100Instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026

Hourly charge for the instructor only.

Flight Instructor, per hour. Rates page undated. Currency symbol shown as $ without a currency label on the page; school is in Canada, so CAD assumed.

Ground instruction:
Not stated
Simulator time:
Not stated
Fuel:
Not stated
Rental basis:
Not stated
Taxes:
Not stated
Landing fees:
Not stated
Examinations:
Not stated
Medical examination:
Not stated
Equipment:
Not stated
Accommodation:
Not stated

Source: flyvfc.com/rates

Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.

Deposit and cancellation
Not published

Authority records for this school and base

  • Stated by the schoolBC Private Training Institutions Regulatory Unit (PTIRU)Other frameworkRegistration

    Scope: Provincial regulation of the club as a private training institution (as stated); not a Transport Canada approval statement.

A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.