Professional pilot training · Integrated professional course
New Zealand Diploma in Aviation (Level 6) – Flight Instruction or Airline Preparation
Waikato Aviation · Waikato Aviation, Hamilton, Hamilton · New Zealand
At a glance
- Training category
- Professional pilot training
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Private Pilot Licence, Commercial Pilot Licence, Multi Engine Instrument Rating (plus Category C Flight Instructor rating or ATPL theory/MCC by strand) – New Zealand
- Jurisdiction
- New Zealand
- Authority
- CAA NZ
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- Waikato Aviation, Hamilton
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Full-time
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Full-time two-year programme of theory and practical flight training; Year 2 strand is either Flight Instructor (Category C rating) or Airline Preparation (ATPL theory exams and a month-long MCC course).
- Completion provides
- NZQA-approved diploma qualification and the licences/ratings listed; exact licence issue depends on CAA tests
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 18 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- At least 18 years old
- NZ citizen or permanent resident
- NCEA Level 2 with at least 14 credits in English, Mathematics, Sciences and a fourth supporting subject
- CAA aviation English language proficiency
- CAA fit and proper person criteria
- CAA NZ Class 1 Medical
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Have or be able to obtain a CAA NZ Class 1 Medical Certificate
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
Not recorded for this program.
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Two years
- Intake / booking
- Two intakes per year in February and July; interviews usually about four months earlier
Training stages and assessments
Stages
- Year 1: PPL and CPL
- Year 2: Flight Instructor strand or Airline Preparation strand
Published prices
No price is published on the sources researched for this program. Use Request Information to ask the school.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.