Private and recreational flying · Private-pilot course
Private Pilot Licence, Airplane
Waterford Aero Club · Weston Airport (temporary), Leixlip · Ireland
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- EASA Private Pilot Licence (PPL(A)), SEP class rating
- Jurisdiction
- Ireland
- Authority
- IAA
- Training framework
- Approved training organisation (ATO), national authority
- Training base
- Weston Airport (temporary)
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Schedule not stated
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- 45 hours of flight training with ground training alongside; nine written exams then a final flight test with an IAA designated examiner.
- Completion provides
- Training toward PPL; licence issued by the IAA.
- Still required
- Nine written exams and final flight test with a designated IAA examiner.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- Not published
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- Medical Class 2 certificate from an Authorized Medical Examiner
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
45 h flight time
At least 25 hours with an instructor and 10 solo per page summary
Advertised package hours
Not published.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
EUR 180Aircraft rental, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Hourly charge for the aircraft only. Check whether it is wet (fuel included) or dry (fuel not included).
Per hour (Hobbs); club membership required to rent; undated; wet/dry not stated
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 172
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
EUR 40Instructor, per hourprice date 16 October 2026
Hourly charge for the instructor only.
LAPL and PPL instruction rate per hour; undated
- Ground instruction:
- Not stated
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Rental basis:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not stated
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not stated
- Medical examination:
- Not stated
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
Verified in authority recordIAAApproved training organisation (ATO), national authorityApproval
Scope: Listed as an Approved Training Organisation; the IAA list does not state approved courses
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.