Private and recreational flying · Recreational / sport pilot course
Recreational Pilot Permit (RPP)
Winnipeg Aviation · St. Andrews base, St. Andrews · Canada
At a glance
- Training category
- Private and recreational flying
- Aircraft category
- Fixed-wing (aeroplane)
- Prepares for
- Recreational Pilot Permit - Aeroplane
- Jurisdiction
- Canada
- Authority
- Transport Canada
- Training framework
- Not stated
- Training base
- St. Andrews base
- Delivery
- In person
- Schedule
- Flexible
What it teaches and what completion provides
- Teaches
- Minimum 25 hours of flight training (15 dual, 10 solo) leading to the written exam and flight test; ground school recommended but not required.
- Completion provides
- Training toward the permit.
- Still required
- Not stated by the school. Check the authority's requirements.
- Approval scope
- The source does not say how this course relates to the school's approval.
A course completion certificate is not necessarily a pilot licence or rating. The licensing authority issues licences and ratings after its own requirements are met.
Entry requirements
- Minimum age
- 16 (as published)
- Prerequisites
- Not published
- Prior qualifications
- Not published
- Required experience
- Not published
- Language requirements
- Not published
- Medical
- An aviation medical (category 4 or higher) must be completed prior to solo
Only an official aeromedical assessment can establish medical fitness. This site does not decide eligibility.
Duration and hours
These figures answer different questions and must not be read as one another. Weather, aircraft availability, student progress, examinations and scheduling all affect real completion time.
Regulatory minimum
25 h flight time
Minimum recreational pilot flight training under Standard 421.22(4).
Advertised package hours
- Flight: 25 h
- Dual: 15 h
- Solo: 10 h
- Minimum hours as priced.
School-reported typical completion
Not published. No typical completion time is estimated here.
- Calendar duration
- Not published
- Intake / booking
- Not published
Published prices
CAD 7,776Estimated qualification packageprice date 17 October 2026
The school's estimate of the total for a qualification; actual cost depends on how many hours you need.
Minimum cost at Transport Canada minimum hours in a Cessna 152 (15 h dual at $304/h, 10 h solo at $220/h, ground school course $500, kit $516.20); medical, written exam, flight test and fees listed separately as additional expenses; taxes not included. Page shows '$' with no currency label; CAD assumed (Manitoba school, taxes mentioned). Page says prices are subject to change without notice; undated.
- Aircraft:
- Cessna 152
- Ground instruction:
- Included
- Simulator time:
- Not stated
- Fuel:
- Not stated
- Taxes:
- Not included
- Landing fees:
- Not stated
- Examinations:
- Not included
- Medical examination:
- Not included
- Equipment:
- Not stated
- Accommodation:
- Not stated
Listed exclusions: taxes; medical examination; written examination fee; flight test fee; licence processing fee; administration fee
Source: winnipegaviation.com/courses/
Prices are shown in the original currency on the date given and are not converted. Hourly rates and package prices answer different questions and are not compared here. Check the school for current prices.
- Deposit and cancellation
- Not published
Authority records for this school and base
No authority record has been researched yet.
A record for the school does not necessarily cover this specific course; the scope is shown where the source states it.